OSPF: LSA types

LSA Types:

Type 1: Router LSA

Type 2: Network LSA

Type 3: Network summary LSA

Type 4: ASBR summary LSA

Type 5: AS external LSA

Type 6: Group membership LSA

Type 7: NSSA external LSA

Type 8: External attributes LSA

Type 9: Opaque LSA (link-local scope)

Type 10: Opaque LSA (area-local scope)

Type 11:Opaque LSA (AS scope)

Type 6 for Multicast OSPF.

1,2,3,4,5 and 7 are commonly used.

Type 8 to 11 not deployed.

Stub Areas

The purpose of having stubs in OSPF is to filter the LSAs flooding the area.

Backbone area and non-stub area:

Accepts Type 1,2,3,4,5 but drops Type 7

Stub area:

Accepts Type 1,2,3 but drops 4,5 and 7

Totally Stub area:

Accepts Type 1,2 but drops 3*,4,5 and 7.

*Exception: Type 3 with a single default route is accepted.

Not-so-stubby-area (NSSA)

Accepts Type 1,2,3,4 and 7 but drops 5.

Type 7 LSA only floods in NSSA, router receives Hello packets from neighbour router and observe the option, the N bit if set to 1 is a NSSA capable router if set to 0 is NSSA incapable. N bit must match to form adjacency. P bit if set will make the ABR in NSSA translate type 7 to type 5 and propagate type 5 LSA to other areas. If P bit is not set then ABR of NSSA will drop type 7 LSA and the advertisement only contain within NSSA. N/P bit coexists.

To form adjacency the E-bit and N-bit must match.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s